Book Review: The Last Unicorn

I read The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle in a fit of childhood nostalgia. The 1982 animated movie is a one of several dimly remembered childhood movies that include the likes of The Rats of NIMH and The Dark Crystal. I have vague memories of the gawky, inept magician Schmendrick and the creepy carnival and the unicorns emerging from the ocean; the last, especially, is an image burned into my memory along with the rats raising Mrs. Frisby’s home in The Rats of NIMH and the creepy bird things from The Dark Crystal.

The book, though, just couldn’t stand up to the force of my nostalgic expectations. Perhaps because as an adult, I could see the underlying themes of the simple fairytale I remember from my childhood. The theme of lost innocence and purity and the pain of never being able to regain it: poor Molly Grue demanding to know why the unicorn waited so long to appear to her, when she was so much older and world weary, and the unicorn forgetting who she was when she fell in love, and then never being able to return to her fairy tale after her time as a human.

Story-wise, I would give it only 3 stars because of the lull in the middle when the unicorn becomes the human Amalthea and I had to force myself through those pages. It officially gets 4 for the gorgeous prose and unique imagery. I put it down with a feeling of sorrow, for lack of a better word, and though I’m glad I read it, I sort of wish I hadn’t ruined the nostalgic haze. Sometimes things are better in hindsight.

This entry was posted in Books, Feeding My Head and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: The Last Unicorn

  1. sarahmacband says:

    Um, yes, please. I would like to borrow this book. I promise that I’ll return it in one piece– unlike your Rats of NIMH. (Sorry, ’bout that, by the way)

    • Miss Christy says:

      I’m on it. I’ll put it in my car and carry it around with me until I see you again. (Which is actually why the Rats of NIMH ended up in the condition it did – not your fault!)

  2. mother says:

    Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Thanks a lot

    • Thanks. This is just WordPress’s TwentyTen theme, with a change in background color and a picture I picked out and uploaded for the header picture (Klimt’s Water Serpents II).

Leave a Reply

