Adventures in Sewing: iPad mini Sleeve

My iPad mini arrived on Friday, all shiny and gleaming and futuristic.  But as with all electronic devices, I needed a case and scratch protection and and some kind of cute contraption to carry it around in and I needed it right now. But after standing in front of a display of not-that-cute iPad cases and sleeves and whatnots at Best Buy and frowning disapprovingly at the ridiculous prices,  I thought, “Wait! I have a sewing machine! I can make one of these!”

And so I went home and rooted around in my stash:

My materialsFound a tutorial: http://www.huckleberrylove.com/2013/01/ipad-mini-case-tutorial.html

Added some fusible fleece for a bit of protective padding:

Fusible fleeceAnd, after about an hour and a half of work from beginning to end, had the finished result:

It's open.

It’s open.

Now's it's closed.

Now’s it’s closed.

The finished product with iPad

And now there’s an iPad mini in it!

Button close up!

Button close up!

I can’t say I’m super impressed with my edge stitching at the top or with the button loop, but I had much more success with the fusible fleece than I did the last time I attempted to use it (and no, I don’t want to talk about it), so I’m going to call it a win.

This entry was posted in Adventures in Sewing, Empowerment through Creating and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

